Four Track Substack
Four Track Substack Podcast
When I Fall
9
0:00
-2:57

When I Fall

previously unreleased song
9
When I fall
it's gonna to be forever.
It's gonna be together.
It's gonna be with you.

When I fall
it's gonna be like dying.
All the longing, always trying
to be part of the world.

Now the only sound
I ever want to hear
Are words of love so clarion, so clear.
In the wings of every moment that you live
with only love to give.

When I fall
it's gonna be forever,
It's gonna be together.
It's gonna be with you.


words and music by Joe Pernice (Bony Gap Music, BMI) admin. by BUG/BMG.

Folks,

Sorry I’ve been out of the loop for the last couple weeks. After a very fantastic few days hiking in Ontario’s Algonquin Provincial Park I got whacked with a cold. Miraculously it was not Covid, but it still knocked me on my behind. I hadn’t had as much as a sniffle since 2019. I guess health has weakened my resistance.

Anyway, the song I’ve included was unreleased until today. I wrote it in early 2020, right before the pandemic hit. At that point I went on a bit of a creative tear, and this song upon completion got sent to the end of the line.

I won’t tell you exactly what my intention was with this tune, but I made a quick demo of it early on, sent it to a friend of mine, and his response was, I like it, but I might be too cynical for a song like that. I figured I had two reply choices:

  1. Where in the song does it suggest that any of this will happen and work out?

  2. Don’t reply.

Well, since my friend said he might be too cynical for such a song, I went for the second option. Sure, I may bend towards a certain direction, but I’m not cruel.

As for the recording included here, I recorded my vocals and nylon acoustic live into Logic. I used two tracks for these. The vocals went through a Shure SM58. The guitar went through a Warm Audio FET 47. The whistling lead is on a third track, and went through the Warm as well. I added compression, EQ, reverb to all. Can’t recall the specifics.

While this version was definitely meant to be a for-personal-consumption-only demo, none of my subsequent versions (you know, the ones where I tried) have the same vibe. The longer I make records, the more obvious it is to me that vibe is king. In my opinion, a vibe is the hardest to achieve. With that in mind, it’s very possible I get a professional moustache to give these three little tracks a legit mix. At this point, this very recording is on the to-keep list for the next Pernice Brothers LP.

As always, thanks a lot for listening and subscribing. I plan to release another song next week. It will be available only to my paid subscribers. Feel free to upgrade ($5 per month) to receive all future posts.

Take care of yourselves and those around you. —JP

9 Comments
Four Track Substack
Four Track Substack Podcast
Musician and writer Joe Pernice shares recordings and some words about making them.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Joe Pernice