Four Track Substack
Four Track Substack Podcast
"The Purple Rain"
27
0:00
-3:41

"The Purple Rain"

27
If you were here we could hang out all night 
and wash our rags till they were almost white. 
I stopped there on my way, but it didn’t seem right. 
No longer knew a soul. No soul knew me.

I never called you and you never came.
I stayed a couple streets away from blame.
Holed up in a poem made of pith and pain.
I often read the end before the start.

I remember you to her sea-bound train.
Remember you to her fruited plain.
Purple mountains in purple rain
won't always separate the shining seas.

Here's a man one heartbeat from a ghost.
Here's a vein, it spiders coast to coast.
One thousand quiet cuts
I do believe we're close.
Been bleeding out for years and years and years.

I remember you to her sea-bound train.
Remember you to her fruited plain.
Purple mountains in purple rain
won't always separate the shining seas.

Remember me to her sea-bound train.
Remember me to her fruited plain.
Purple mountains in purple rain
won't always separate the shining seas.
The wake is washing over me.

(Words & music by Joe Pernice, Bony Gap Music, administered by BUG/BMG)

I just finished writing this song last week. The chord changes had been banging around for a few months. I knew what I wanted to write, but it just took some circling and gathering before I was able to focus.

A fuller, studio version of this tune is already in the works. I messed around with a harmonica part: A steady, no-vibrato monophonic line in the vein of “He Ain’t Heavy He’s My Brother” by the Hollies or “A Jar” by Wilco. (That’s the kind of harmonica I like.) Problem is, I’m a worse harmonica player than I am illustrator or surgeon. Should the final version have harmonica, you can be sure I did not play it.

As for the recording here, I tracked it in my basement bicycle shop. I sang and played live which I prefer these days. I don’t like singing while wearing headphones, and I avoid doing so whenever possible. The guitar is a nylon string acoustic made in Canada by La Patrie. (I love this guitar.) Both the guitar and voice were mic’d with meat-and-potatoes Sure SM58 microphones. I have some pretty nice microphones, but there’s something about a $100 SM58 on my vocals that’s pleasing to my ear at least. (Plus, you can use a 58 to drive some nails should that be necessary between takes.) I went straight into an Avid Apogee Duet onto two tracks in Logic. I did a down and dirty mix in Logic and hit SEND.

Thanks for listening. Be back soon. —JP

27 Comments
Four Track Substack
Four Track Substack Podcast
Musician and writer Joe Pernice shares recordings and some words about making them.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Joe Pernice